One of my favorites

Thought I’d share a recipe from my book Fabulous Foods,  Enjoying Healthy Comfort Foods under the name, Cynthia Mahoney FNP (if you type in my name instead of the title, you’ll go straight to the book)

Cindy’s Favorite Fettuccine Alfredo

This was one of my serendipitous findings. I spent years trying to emulate a local chef’s high fat Alfredo, sans fat, and tried some changes. When I finally hit on this recipe, it was mid-summer and my husband was in the mood for a cool salad. So because I am the saint that I am, I ate his portion of Fettuccine Alfredo, I mean someone had to do it. I sat down, wrote the recipe and fired it off to the local newspaper’s Healthy Living section. I have had more compliments on this than I can stand, well almost.

 

Prep time: 15 minutes

 

6 ounces of whole wheat linguini or Fettuccine noodles

6 ounces of fat free half and half

1 tablespoon light margarine such as I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, Light

½ cup parmesan cheese, finely grated

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1 clove fresh pressed garlic, sautéed

Salt, about 1 or 2 teaspoons

1 tablespoon grated Asiago cheese, optional

 

In a medium pot, boil noodles per package instructions but don’t add oil or salt. Stir frequently.

While the noodles are boiling, in a medium bowl mix the cornstarch with 1 tablespoon of the fat free half and half. When thoroughly mixed with a fork, add in the rest of the fat free half and half.

 

When noodles are sufficiently cooked, drain and put directly back into the pot, add the light margarine and mix until melted. Turn heat back on medium and add the cornstarch/half and half mix and heat to almost boiling, but do not boil, for 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Add the ½ cup parmesan cheese, garlic and salt and mix. The sauce will thicken.

 

Serve immediately with the grated Asiago.

3 servings:

Calories: 397

Fat: 5

Fiber: 6

Protein: 21

Leave a Reply

