Too Hot to Cook. Not for Pulled Pork!

Okay, so pulled pork is NOT in my healthy cookbook.

Pork is NOT the other ‘white meat.’

But, I had a picnic pork, a shoulder cut in my freezer taking up space. I have NO idea how it got there …

I’d been wondering since yesterday what to make for supper today. Okay, truth be told, I pulled the frozen pork from the freezer the day before yesterday …

The temperature hit 110 degrees. It’s hot enough to cook eggs on the sidewalk. Not a pleasant thought. But not so hot that I couldn’t use the crockpot and some cheap over the counter type sauce.

We shop at Winco. Yes, we’re cheap. But the prices are great. Months ago, I hit upon a recipe for pulled pork. I made it during the chilly weather. Yum.

Worked just as well today. Turned out perfect. Even on a hot day.

  • 1 shoulder cut picnic pork (I’m going to try  chicken or sirloin next time for health). Honestly, I don’t remember how much it weighed …
  • Sweet BBQ sauce (I used what I had, Sweet Baby Ray’s) 3/4 cup
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • 1/2+ cup Chicken broth
  • Onion, diced
  • Garlic, diced (two cloves was enough)

In pan, braise pork on all sides in 2 Tablespoons hot canola oil (or your oil of choice)

Remove from pan; add diced onion and garlic to pan, lower heat, stir until onions are opaque.

Mix BBQ sauce and chicken broth into crockpot. Add onions, garlic, pork.

Cook on ‘HIGH’ for 2 and 1/2 hrs. Then turn heat to ‘LOW,’ and cook another two hours. When done, use two forks and it should be tender enough to pull apart. Serve by itself or on hoagie buns. Add corn on the cob baked/roasted with tarragon and margarine, and a small salad. After a long day of editing, a sure and awesome reward.

And… easy, inexpensive, and perfect for anytime of year.

 

pulled pork pic

image: Wikipedia

pork sandwich

image: food.com

Fast and easy recipe, my own  🙂

One thought on “Too Hot to Cook. Not for Pulled Pork!

Leave a Reply

